Tags

, , , ,

Her marriage breaking up Wynter or Wyn to her friends finds herself on a journey both geographically from LA to Seattle and metaphorically from coupledom to living with her mother and then sofa surfing with her best buddy CM to living alone. In amongst all this she returns to her first love of making bread and we get to know a little about her time in France learning this craft and how it provides therapy and respite from the real world.

With a nod to the backdrop of sunny south California and a few name dropping hints about Santa Monica and the like ( I enjoy the odd reference to places I’ve been on my travels I’ve yet to make it to coffee capital Seattle but would love to see the fish throwing stall holders in the market just as Wyn and CM do.)

The story throws Wynter the curved ball of husbands ‘other woman’, her mum remarrying and the slightly hostile climate of Seattle but she bounces back albeit slowly and with some pain along the way.

It’s an easy read and my first from Judi, I know she has some more ‘Bread’ titles, so I look forward to a full blow out!

