Tags

, ,

image.jpegThank you to Jonathan to agreeing to feature on my ‘author’s chats’ page. An incredibly exciting time for me as I launch this new phase in my blogging career. Comments in italics are from Jonathan.

Like me one of Jonathan’s favourite author’s was the prolific writer Enid Blyton.  I loved the Secret Seven books by Enid Blyton. They were just great stories, well told, and I longed to have my own secret club meeting in my garden shed. I certainly think that Enid must be at the top of fave childhood author’s lists of many people as her books just allowed your own imagination to run wild. I loved the Faraway Tree.

Which authors inspire you and why?

I love so many. Marian Keyes, Armistead Maupin, Claire Mackinstosh, Patrick Gale, Jojo Moyes. Writers who write about a world I recognise and tell me something about the human condition.

Where do you usually write and do you have a ‘usual timetable’?

I am quite adaptable and can write anywhere but I prefer to be in my office at home and try to keep daytime office hours. But if there’s a deadline looming then weekends are good, as fewer people email or call.

What is your most recent book and in a few words can you tell us something about it?

My latest is The History of Us, about three friends growing up and getting older and how a secret from their childhood affects them all today when one of them is found dead. I’m certainly looking forward to reading this and hope I find it in my Christmas stocking. I loved Jonathan’s The Girl Who Just Appeared which is partially set in Liverpool so I am a convert to Jonathan’s style of writing and story telling.

What are you working on at the moment?

I am working on my next novel, though I’ve not decided on a title yet. And I continue to do quite a bit of telly, like Coronation Street and Tracey Ullman’s Show.

Do you use social media to promote and interact with readers?

I certainly do, it’s lovely to have that immediate feedback. 

Any tips for aspiring writers?

Write. It’s easy to find excuses not to, but you have to put the hours in.

Thank you Jonathan.

If you too are a fan please comment below would love to hear from you.

